Welcome to chick flick Thursday

Today is chick flick Thursday! And I feel like it should be something else……oh right. The day to watch a parade, eat turkey and then watch football.

My thanksgiving card from my mom. “Who wants dark meat?”

For me it’s a day to work with a good friend and watch a couple movies. I volunteered to work Thanksgiving because it’s better than sitting at home alone. My husband is a manager in a retail environment and while you would think (at least I did) that a management position meant holidays off when you add retail to the end of it you’re basically signing a contract that says you work every holiday as long as the store is open. And since we have no family anywhere remotely close and our friends are either working or out of town I figured working was just as good as anything. This and Easter are the only holidays I’ll work this year so I feel like I got pretty lucky.

Since this post is short and sweet I’ll leave you with some silly Thanksgiving joy.

This seems to be the only Thanksgiving song around and I’m not sure how good any others would be so we’ll enjoy this one.

And some silly jokes….

“Why was the turkey in the band?”
He had the best drumsticks.

“Why can’t you take a turkey to church?”
Because he has such fowl language.

“Why did the turkey get arrested?”
He was suspected of fowl play.

You got a good laugh, right? Or at least a sad one. 🙂 My mom texts them to me and I always get a good chuckle over the goofiness of them. When I was younger I used to borrow joke books from the library and take them on family vacations. I was relentless and thought I was hilarious. My family did not think the same. 🙂

I hope everyone enjoys Turkey Day or if you don’t celebrate Thanksgiving have a Happy Thursday. Whichever works for you. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Welcome to chick flick Thursday

  1. Those jokes are on par with Christmas cracker ones. I like to amuse myself by imagining the people who write these – who are they? Where are they? Why??

    So what movies did you end up going with? I think The American President and My Big Fat Greek Wedding are two of my favourite chick flicks.

    • I make fun of those goofy jokes but I know I’m never going to be that creative. Those fools are making bank!

      We ended up watching Brave, which is very cute, and had The Princess Bride as a back up. Then one of the guys came in and we ended up watching football.

      • The Princess Bride & My Big Fat Greek Wedding are two of my favorites Brave was okay, but didn’t really win me over. 🙂 Loved the jokes! Nothing makes a holiday better than a bad fun.

      • I haven’t seen My Big Fat Greek Wedding in forever but I remember laughing a lot. It’s actually on my list of movies to watch (but my list is really, really long…)

        Up until my friends started having kids I never liked cartoon movies; now I can’t get enough of them. I actually feel like the older I get the younger my mind is. 🙂

    • Bad fun during the holidays makes it more entertaining. 🙂

      That Disney karma will get you every time. At the risk of it getting me I will say Brave was cute, not my favorite by far, but those little boys cracked me up!

I love comments. Leave one below!

