Happy Merry Independence Day

We finally decorated our Christmas tree last night! There’s only 18 days until Christmas but I just can not get in the spirit of the holidays. I tried, I really did. At the beginning I was very optimistic but I’ve been something similar to the Grinch lately.

I don't know...I think I could pull this look off.

I don’t know…I think I could pull this look off.

 

I really didn’t want a tree but W talked me into it. We dragged out all the holiday decorations and last night we finally had a night off to decorate. I sorted through the lights and the only 3 strands we could find were red, white and blue. The only thing of multi-color is our star. So we set to decorating our 4th of July tree. We had to re-do the red lights several times because they weren’t evenly distributed throughout the tree. It took several tries but finally we had it done right. Then blue and white went up and everything looked perfect! We started decorating and had the tree almost finished. I stepped back to a different part of the room and this is what I saw…

We will not be quitting our day jobs to string lights.

We will not be quitting our day jobs to string lights.

The tree looks great from one side but horribly uneven on the other. At this point W refused to do the lights again and I am working to make my peace with it 🙂

We always seem to pick a tree that has an imperfect top. I’m actually convinced there is no such thing as a perfect top. This year there is quite the gap between the star and the nearest branches. Then there’s that rogue branch (if you look really close you can see it) that sticks out, sort of like a really long thumb. I didn’t have the heart to hack it off because it’s kind of cute.

Every year I say I’m going to do a themed Christmas tree but we have some awesome ornaments that just need to be shown off.

Our nerd side.

Our nerd side.

Even on my tree ;)

Even on my tree 😉

Then there are the ornaments we made when my sister and her husband were visiting.

Fighting to the bitter end

Fighting to the bitter end

All the good holidays

You’ll notice the variety of things on the above ornament. We celebrated Thanksmas, our invented holiday that includes Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas. I like to think it could be as famous as Festivus! I just want to throw my hands in the air and yell “Serenity now! Serenity now!”

After all the decorating I do have some of my Christmas spirit back but what really made the night was when we were putting away the remaining decorations and we found the strand of multi-colored lights hiding in a box. At that point the only thing to do is laugh. 🙂

I love comments. Leave one below!

