Everyone’s Irish on March 17th

Happy St. Patty’s Day!

Irish yoga

Is this you today?

Today is one of my favorite days! While I’m long past the days of Irish yoga I still enjoy the celebrating in the festivities. Each year Fort Collins hosts the Sharin’ O’ The Green 5K and an annual parade. This year I had planned to walk ZuZu but due to circumstances that arose right before the race we opted to take our own walk on the trail. I like to think the dog had a better time due to our encounters with 5 angry squirrels, 4 swimming ducks, 3 feisty cats, 2 curious geese and an otter racing along the creek. We actually saw that many of each animal; you can’t make this stuff up. I am thinking of remaking the Christmas song to fit our walks.

There’s nothing better than wildlife racing across the trail in front of you while you’re trying to walk an energetic dog. Luckily there weren’t many people on the trail that early in the morning. Zu tends to focus only on the animal in her sights and not the people she tangles in her leash.

This is how Zu celebrates St. Patrick’s Day!

ZuZu St Patrick's day

Zu rocking her green bandana!

For the rest of Saturday afternoon W and I enjoyed green beer and corned beef in Old Town listening to local bands. We usually try to visit Lucky Joe’s for an annual Irish drink but due to CSU’s Spring Break this week there are too many college students roaming around. I’m no longer a fan of large crowds (unless it involves some sort of running) or college students (I used to be one so I can say that). And of course there was the fact that I’d been up for close to 24 hours from working the night before so sleep was quickly becoming the only priority!

Tonight we’re celebrating with some cosmic bowling and Guinness…and probably more cheap green beer.

Guinness Warehouse, Dublin, Ireland

Guinness Warehouse, Dublin, Ireland

I visited Ireland several years ago and it became one of my absolute favorite countries. One of the best breweries I’ve toured is the Guinness Factory, where the pictures above and below were taken. To see a few more from my trip to Ireland, visit my photo blog www.168hoursofmotion.wordpress.com

Irish

Have a happy, safe and green filled day!

Until next time.

I love comments. Leave one below!

