April showers bring babies & brides…and a shot of brandy.

Coming up with a topic for today was actually hard for me. It’s one of those days where I have a million ideas but all of them have been blah. I changed my mind so many times!

This was my list of discarded topics.

  • Beer – Fort Collins has some of the best beer/breweries in the region.
  • Baseball – This week is the start of the season!
  • Blood (??) – This was Stella’s but I couldn’t think of anything to write about.
  • Big Bang Theory – Because it’s an awesome show.
  • Bratwurst – This was W’s. I felt I would have only gotten a few lines.

Alas, great words but no material immediately sprang to mind. But in my recent activities I’ve encountered 3 B’s that are worth mentioning. (To start I should mention there really are April showers. It doesn’t rain much in Colorado and when it does it’s only for a few minutes, maybe an hour, at the most.

First on the list…babies. I’ve got a friend having a baby soon. Her baby shower was this past weekend and we played a few games. It didn’t take long for me to realize how much I know about babies. Nothing. The first game we were all given 45 seconds to write down as many things about babies as we could. My mind went BLANK! I had nothing. My friend next to me was scribbling furiously and I hadn’t even gotten a letter out yet! When the time ended everyone said how many they had. Most were 10+. I finished with….6. Diapers wasn’t even on my list. I think I had blanket, cute, crib…even now I can’t think of anything. I shook it off. I was ready for the next game. This time it was sticking your hand in a diaper bag for 10 seconds then writing down everything you felt. Again…nothing! Wipes, lotion and what might have been a towel. But at least I was somewhat close with guessing the measurement of the mom-to-be’s belly. Pretty much a big huge FAIL with baby stuff! I keep telling all my mom friends to write a book…it’s obvious I’ll need it.

Next up is brides! My friend is getting married in May and we’re having her shower in a couple weeks. It’s a garden theme so I’m hoping the weather continues to stay nice so we can enjoy the outdoors! I’m researching games that aren’t too corny. I’ve never been a huge fan of games at showers but it’s almost a must nowadays. The only one we have so far is the toilet paper wedding dress because that one is just awesome! It’s obvious I’m horrible at these list games so I think we’ll skip those.

And last but not least a shot of brandy. No, it’s not just a fun thing to do on Tuesdays it’s also a tribute to my late grandmother who would have celebrated her 98th birthday on Friday! She lived on her own, in her own house, until a few short months before she died. When asked how she did it she would say “a beer and a shot of brandy every day.” Naturally at her funeral the entire family had a shot and each year on her birthday we do one with my parents.

Here's to grandma!

Here’s to grandma!

April 2nd celebrates a couple neat things. First it is Autism Speaks Day celebrating Light It Up Blue for Autism Awareness Month. Like Earth Hour major cities and iconic buildings around the world raise awareness by displaying blue lights. Autism is more common than many people think, every 1 in 88 child is diagnosed, and this is a great opportunity to spread awareness.

Second, it’s National Peanut Butter & Jelly Day! I don’t eat peanut butter so enjoy a sandwich for me!

PB & JSee you at C!

There are lots of great blogs, 1,968 to be exact. To check out a few and learn some neat things click here: A-Z Challenge list

4 thoughts on “April showers bring babies & brides…and a shot of brandy.

I love comments. Leave one below!

