Doctor Who? The Doctor. Who?

“Do you wanna come with me? ‘Cause if you do, then I should warn you – you’re gonna see all sorts of things. Ghosts from the past. Aliens from the future. The day the Earth died in a ball of flame. It won’t be quiet, it won’t be safe, and it won’t be calm. But I’ll tell you what it will be: The trip of a lifetime!”
– Doctor Who

Courtesy of Wikia

Let’s hear it for The Doctor!

Doctor Who is one of the greatest sci-fi shows ever. Maybe even in general. It’s so ridiculous at times but you get sucked in and find yourself eagerly hitting play next episode over and over again until it’s been five hours and the laundry you meant to do is still sitting on the washing machine.

I’m always excited when my subscription to Entertainment Weekly has the Doctor on the cover. It’s one of the few times I skip ahead in the magazine to read the cover article first.

EW Cover

I had been trying to get W to watch it for a while. Having finished our Buffy run we were lacking in a series show. In addition to our current tv shows we always watch one or two shows that have ended or have several seasons. There is something so satisfying about watching episodes concurrently. There’s no waiting, no wondering what’s happening next yet having to wait a week…or a month!…to find out if everyone survives!

We had a few shows in mind but nothing grabbed our attention. Or W’s attention. It took a lot of convincing on my part. He wasn’t too interested when I first suggested it. There was a little spark after our friend recommended it but even then he wasn’t convinced. He finally decided it was worth checking out after finding out David Tennant starred in it along with appearances by other former Harry Potter actors.

Now he loves it. We’re only a few seasons into the revived series. David Tennant is still Doctor for us and so far he’s our favorite. Of course there has only been one before him so we don’t have a lot to compare. I’m excited to see Matt Smith though. I’ve heard from several people that he’s their favorite. As for the sidekicks I go back and forth on Rose, sometimes she’s funny but sometimes I want to push her. I’ve seen enough bits and pieces of the later episodes to like who’s coming in the future. And after we’ve caught up with the current season we still have several of the classics and the spin-off with Captain Jack, Torchwood. Looks like we’ll be set for a while. 🙂

Who is your favorite Doctor?

Today’s fun days are World Rat Day, International Carrot Day and Tell A Lie Day. It makes you wonder how these days got there start!

See you at E!

 

A-Z Challenge

3 thoughts on “Doctor Who? The Doctor. Who?

  1. Hi Ruby .. Dr Who – the new one started last Saturday I think .. I’m sure there’ll be many who are hooked in – it’s incredible it’s 50 years isn’t it ..

    Cheers and enjoy the shows – Hilary

I love comments. Leave one below!

