Everyday I’m Twittering

Okay so…my title is actually a lie. I’m really, really new to Twitter. It’s a complete mystery to me. I have figured out how to look at other people’s tweets but not how to correctly post my own. I have gotten as far as putting in subject material but when it comes to hash tags and at people I start getting confused. I understand the @, it’s when to put the # in that confuses me. Do I just put any word in and hope people search for it? Are there set topics that can be hash-tagged? Is my Twitter lingo even correct? Just when I think I’m getting it I start panicking! I might be looking too hard at this. It shouldn’t be that hard!

I started an account in January during my convalescence because I was playing a couple hidden object games on the iPad and if you connected to Twitter you would receive extra lives and all that good stuff.  I was awake at the worst times ever, usually 3 or 4 in the morning, so I needed the extra lives to keep me occupied and to keep me from poking W until he woke up and kept me company. I didn’t actually explore until a couple weeks ago when my co-worker asked if I had Twitter. I told him I did but that I didn’t get it so he gave me a few tips and some people/sites to follow. It wasn’t until recently that I decided to link the blogs. I don’t have so many followers that I need a lot of outlets to post my insane-ness but during the A-Z Challenge I’ve come across some great blogs that aren’t on WordPress. Twitter has become a way to follow them and for people to find me easily.

The last couple of days I’ve been playing around with it and following just about everyone. I’ve noticed that a lot of them have to do with food or beer. If you’re looking for followers let me know 🙂 I feel I’m starting to get that hang of it! I’ve also added this nice little button on the side that you can click on to join me and all 6 of my  followers!! Or find me @meyouandzu.

I’m off to twitter a little more…wish me luck!

And while I’m doing that you can enjoy Talk Like Shakespeare Day. From the official Talk Like Shakespeare site is a helpful guide to start you on your talking adventure.

How to Talk Like Shakespeare

  1. Instead of you, say thou or thee (and instead of y’all, say ye).
  2. Rhymed couplets are all the rage.
  3. Men are Sirrah, ladies are Mistress, and your friends are all called Cousin.
  4. Instead of cursing, try calling your tormenters jackanapes or canker-blossoms or poisonous bunch-back’d toads.
  5. Don’t waste time saying “it,” just use the letter “t” (’tis, t’will, I’ll do’t).
  6. Verse for lovers, prose for ruffians, songs for clowns.
  7. When in doubt, add the letters “eth” to the end of verbs (he runneth, he trippeth, he falleth).
  8. To add weight to your opinions, try starting them with methinks, mayhaps, in sooth or wherefore.
  9. When wooing ladies: try comparing her to a summer’s day. If that fails, say “Get thee to a nunnery!”
  10. When wooing lads: try dressing up like a man. If that fails, throw him in the Tower, banish his friends and claim the throne.

Or check out this skit between David Tennant and Catherine Tate.

 

See you at U!

2 thoughts on “Everyday I’m Twittering

I love comments. Leave one below!

