Unexpected Unicorns

**I asked (more like begged) my sister Stella to write for me today because the allergies turned cold from a couple of weeks ago is actually a sinus infection. I’ve been trying to get Stella to guest blog for a while now so I jumped on this opportunity. As a quick note my parents and sister call me Roxy so don’t be confused when you see that in the post.  And without further ado here is Stella!**

Unicorns

Hello fellow followers of Roxy’s blog!  Roxy asked if I would be a guest blogger for the letter U and I was hesitant at first…but am honored she asked!

I spent a good deal of time trying to figure out my topic and even more time on what I would say about said topic.  I landed on Unexpected Unicorns because it has oddly enough become my new chapter in life.   You know the saying, “when one door closes, another one opens,” and mine opened by saying, “the unexpected is going to be strange, crazy, awesome, and amazing”….SO, it is going to be like that mythical unicorn.

To be clear, unicorns are intriguing to me but I don’t really have any fascination with them.  Somewhere during my childhood I acquired this bizarre iridescent wood painting of two unicorns.  I remember staring at it frequently wondering what the hell it was about and now the more I look at it I feel it was something I won (ok..my Dad probably won it) at one of the magical carnivals by the river.  Pretty much everything I remember from childhood was magical and had much more grandeur than what it holds now, the secret in keeping the magic is, “to never lose your childish enthusiasm and things will come your way,” some Italian man said that, so therefore it is important.

And here is how unicorns help!

Rhino Unicorn

This picture cracks me up every time I see it. Who doesn’t want to be the unicorn yet feels like a rhino trying to get there?  However, now every time I do Zumba this is what I’m picturing and can’t stop laughing. A while back my husband decided he would join me for one of my Zumba sessions and I embraced the idea!  A work out partner is the best…..right?  My husband is a lanky man and 6’1″…imagine, if you will, the Tin Man trying to do Ta Picao or Hindu Cumen and if you’re not familiar with Zumba just imagine the Tin Man trying to do any dancing and you have my husband.  That night I burned my calories from crying with laughter and almost peeing my pants.

Unicorn picture

This is another one that gets me.  Even now I’m trying to figure out what to say about it and I’ve got nothing because I can’t stop giggling. I come up with a different story every time I see it. Tonight the story goes like this…its pretty simple.  Doug (the horse) met Lila (the manatee with a horn) at a wedding for a mutual friend, if I had to hazard a guess I would say for a duck?  Seems a duck would have each as mutual friends. Anyway, they shared a common interest in water sports, had too much rum punch, hooked up and boom…a unicorn.

And here is where my evening of guest blogging winds down.  It’s funny because it came out completely unexpected, which tied it together beautifully for Mr. U.  To conclude, embrace and appreciate the unexpected my friends because, as you can see, there is a unicorn in all of us!

I love comments. Leave one below!

