Vuvuzela’s make lovely gifts

First of all a HUGE thank you to Stella for covering for me yesterday. I’m hoping to convince her to do it more often!

Remember the 2010 FIFA World Cup where the commentators were drowned out by the incessant buzzing sound of the vuvuzela? Well I have one. And I love it. I’m not sure W feels the same way.

Don't mind the cat

Don’t mind the cat

A couple years ago NonstickBarley gave it to me for my birthday. I don’t even remember what prompted the conversation that led to that gift but it was probably something along the lines of “I love those things.” I happened to get it at the same time we were headed out to a Def Leppard & Heart concert so naturally I took it along. After a few drinks we made a trip to McDonald’s (naturally driven by our sober driver) and I spent a good deal of time in the backseat of the car blowing the vuvuzela out the window. I don’t remember everything but I’m pretty sure it was taken away from me after a while.

For the most part it sits on the bookshelf next to the radio because it can get quite annoying. I can’t imagine having to sit in a stadium with thousands of those. It’s next big appearance will probably be for the 2014 FIFA World Cup. Watching soccer is one of the best things on television, especially when it’s commentated in Spanish, and if there’s a goooooooooaaalll I’ll play my vuvuzela along with the crowd…or until W bans it from being used in our household. I can see them being banned from games as well. People get crazy at soccer games and giving them a plastic weapon is probably not a great idea. I was in Europe during the 2006 games and was witness to several soccer hooligan shenanigans.

I still recommend having them around the house though. They make a great conversation piece. And they come in all sorts of colors!

I had W take a picture of me with my vuvuzela and this is the picture I was going for…

20130425-194242.jpg

This is what it took to take it…I’m not sure what happened.

image  image  image

Today is World Penguin Day so celebrate those little critters! I go to the zoo specifically to see the penguins. It’s also National Zucchini Bread Day which is one of my favorites…I might have to bake some. AND last but not least…it’s Hug A Plumber Day. I’m not sure about this one…it might be awkward asking your plumber if you can hug him/her.

I love comments. Leave one below!

