Every Day In May – Day 6

If you couldn’t answer with your job, how would you answer the question, ‘what do you do’?

Funny Confession Ecard: Mostly, I just sit around all day being fantastic.What do I do? I do absolutely nothing. When I’m not at work I live a life of leisure. We have no kids (of the human variety), the cats take care of themselves and ZuZu is okay with being lazy.

A typical day in the life of Ruby goes a little like this…sleep in, let the dog out, exercise in some way (Zumba, run, bike, walk the dog or on really active days I’ve been known to do all of those), then get on the computer and blog for a bit or check out what’s new on Pinterest. Usually by then it’s early afternoon and that means some sort of shopping is in order. Sometimes it’s for groceries, other days its for new shoes. Or if I’m feeling especially lazy…online shopping. On the days when I don’t shop I might take a nap or get on Pinterest again. Occasionally I’ll throw in a few household chores such as laundry or vacuuming but my home is tiny so it doesn’t take long for me to get back to my nothingness. And of course during all of that I’ve probably been texting my sister or my friend. I also text W a lot but he doesn’t check his phone that often so when he finally does there’s usually 15 messages waiting for him.

Surprisingly enough I don’t like sitting down just to watch TV. You would think by all the TV shows that I watch that it would be on the top of my list but it takes up too much of my day. When I work out on my lunch break (which means 1AM in the overnight world) I put a show on the iPad and watch while I run. Only when the episodes are in danger of expiring on Hulu do I actually get on and start watching several in a row. Even then I feel obligated to fold laundry just so I feel like I’m not wasting time. There are a few exceptions to this.  Last year, while on a 2-week vacation, I spent two entire days on the couch watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer and eating Nutella with graham crackers. I didn’t even change out of my pajamas. It was great.

That about sums up what I do. My nothingness has purpose though. I love to be lazy but I don’t like wasting time. There’s a difference…in my book at least!

Lazy weekend

2 thoughts on “Every Day In May – Day 6

I love comments. Leave one below!

