Every Day In May – Day 25

Day 25: Something someone told you about yourself that you’ll never forget (good or bad)

The other day I said if I had a nickel for everything I had learned I’d be poor. Today I’m going to say the same thing but finish it with I’d be rich. So here goes…if I had a nickel for every time someone said I look like Drew Barrymore I’d be rich.

wedding

If I hear the question “Do you know who you look like?” I just laugh and respond with “Drew Barrymore?” Then the other person and I have a good chuckle while we talk about her movies. Just the other day at the dentist I heard, “Hey has anyone ever told you…?” which then started a bet between the assistant and the doctor that the little girl from The Poltergeist was Drew Barrymore. It isn’t.

It all started when I was a young, well-mannered child in elementary school. People would say “You look like the little girl from E.T.” At the time I had no idea who they were talking about and really wasn’t too interested in finding out. I had things to do. That only happened a few times as a kid that I can remember. I’ve had a few random people come up to me but mostly it’s people that I’m acquainted with or meeting for the first time. There has only ever been one person who said I didn’t look like her because he thought she was ugly and didn’t want to compare me to her. I don’t see the resemblance. There have been a few pictures where my naturally wavy/curly hair is down and if I glance very quickly I might see a little bit. My smile shows my teeth though and her pictures rarely do which I think makes a big different. Everyone swears it though so I’ve been thinking of heading out to Vegas to be a celebrity impersonator. Maybe one day…

I love comments. Leave one below!

