Camping is easy when you don’t have to do anything.

We survived our camping trip. It was a lot of fun and I’m glad we decided to go. W took care of everything while Zu and I chillaxed. I spent most of the time untangling her from her leash. It took her several times and us putting on her harness before she finally got the hang of it.

DSC_0050
The weather was beautiful when we got there but rain clouds moved in and threatened ominous weather for the rest of the night. It sprinkled on and off for the rest of the night but thankfully we were still able to enjoy the outdoors.

DSC_0049

DSC_0055

Zu was really interested in the fire pit and kept jumping in (before the fire was started). Once it was going she kept her distance. It was so nice to be able to have a fire this year. Despite the many wildfires burning, including the recent one in the National Park, the fire bans have not been implemented. Last year the bans were put in effect early and we weren’t able to have one. Of course we didn’t find that out until we were already there and in a small mountain town with only a few hardware stores and one major grocery store finding an approved camp stove was nearly impossible. We had located one early on and were heading towards it when some woman swooped in front of us and grabbed it. We followed her around for a while but she got a little suspicious and didn’t appear to be giving it up anytime soon so we gave up. After searching for hours the next day we finally located one and paid a small fortune for it. But at least we got to eat at our campsite instead of McDonald’s!

DSC_0065
DSC_0066
DSC_0068
Towards the end of the night it had cooled considerably and though it was a light sprinkling it was still chilly. We spent the rest of the evening playing cards in the tent while Zu snoozed. Usually she circles the tent several times but she settled onto her pillow and fell asleep instantly. It should have been a sign of what was to come…

When we finally decided to sleep Zu decided she wasn’t comfortable on her pillow. She wandered to each corner and tried to shower us with kisses. In the end she stole W’s pillow but at least she was asleep. At 5 was when she decided she’d had enough of the tent and wanted out. She spent several minutes pressing her face against the door and sighing deeply. W took her out for a few minutes then dragged her back in. There were several minutes of sighing, sniffing at the zipper and dramatic drops to the ground but eventually she gave in and went back to sleep.

The next morning we headed into the city so I could get service on my phone. We took Zu to the dog park while we waited for my doctor’s office to call me back. This is one of my favorite dog parks. It has 3 sections; one for general play, one that has access to Lake Estes and another with an agility course.
DSC_0093
DSC_0072
DSC_0075We usually have to prompt ZuZu to use the agility equipment but once she starts she keeps going. I wish I had more time to spend training her because she’s very smart.

DSC_0077
DSC_0079

DSC_0080
DSC_0091

When I’d finally sorted things out with my doctor we trekked back up the mountain and over to Grand Lake to have a picnic. We only saw a few creatures; one moose lying in the grass and elk scattered about.

DSC_0127
DSC_0129

7-types-of-campers

Airbeds4Less

While catching up on blog’s this morning I came across this post from You Did What With Your Weiner about the different types of campers.

I think we fall somewhere between “Underprepared” and “Overprepared” but closer to the first. There were several times we realized there was something important we had forgotten.

We experienced the “Party” group and the “Daycare” group on each side of us. A large group of youth were loud and unruly most of the evening but surprisingly were quiet in the late hours. They were probably harassing some other campsite.

Then there was the family with two very young children, one of which decided to SCREAM bloody murder for half an hour around 4 am. The mother apologized the noisy youth site about her own noisy youth but due to the invisible sound barrier surrounding her site no one else warranted an apology…

And of course, there’s always the RV group. You see them everywhere.

15 thoughts on “Camping is easy when you don’t have to do anything.

  1. I envy the beautiful scenery of the mountains. I live in Florida where there are no hills much a less mountains. We went out west a few years ago and fell in love with the majestic mountains. We also liked the mountains in North Carolina. It was breath taking. Glad you enjoyed the trip. One of the greatest pleasures is to enjoy your surroundings. Have a great day, Barry

    • The mountains are very breathtaking, I never get tired of them but I do love the ocean so I envy you being able to see it. Hope you had a wonderful day too!

  2. Looks like a great vaca! We took our dog camping for the first time this year, and I was amazed (AMAZED I TELL YOU) at how well she did. Now we know to take her camping more often. Our only issue were the ticks. Not on us, but on the dog. We had to make an emergency run to town to get Frontline because they were so bad. I stopped counting after we removed her 37th one. Ugh.

    • Ugh, ticks are the worst! Especially that many! They aren’t too bad here unless you’re in the backcountry but the occasional one always shows up! I’m not sure I could camp without the dog, she makes things so much fun!

  3. Nice that you got to have a fire and make smores this time. You have great mountain views. I think if I didn’t live in Seattle I would live in Colorado. I still secretly dream of moving there sometime…at least for a while.

    • I’ve always wanted to visit Seattle, I love the Pacific coastline. Colorado will always have my heart though so I don’t think I could move either!

  4. Pingback: Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014 | Me, You and Zu

I love comments. Leave one below!

