When “When In Rome” is more apropo

Recently we went to the Denver Pavillions to see an exhibit on da Vinci & Michelangelo. It features replicas of the sculptures & paintings. and lots of scale models of da Vinci’s drawings.

Da Vinci & Michelangelo

Da Vinci & Michelangelo

Like all museums & exhibits most of the art was DO NOT TOUCH but there were a few of da Vinci’s models that you could play with. Seeing them up close and reading the story behind them really highlighted how brilliant he was.

Da Vinci & Michelangelo

Da Vinci & Michelangelo Da Vinci & Michelangelo

I studied abroad in college and traipsed through Europe for a few weeks so I’ve seen several of the originals. Any time we see something like this my husband usually has to listen to me re-tell my adventures and by the end of the day I’ve whipped out the thousands of pictures (seriously thousands, I’m very snap happy) I took while I was there. Lucky for me art & history interests him so he doesn’t mind. I’ve got lots of pictures from my Europe adventures at 168 Hours of Motion. I actually spent most of the spring doing a “tour” of Europe on the photo blog and I’ve made it all the way to London but have not quite completed it.

                      Da Vinci & Michelangelo Da Vinci & Michelangelo

Da Vinci & Michelangelo

The exhibit doesn’t separate the two artists, instead combines both of their work in a side by side tour. There are guided tours but we had arrived 30 minutes before the next one and didn’t want to wait so we used the self-guided tour that you can scan into your iPhone. I only listened to a few though because I didn’t have headphones and didn’t want to disrupt the other people trying to enjoy the exhibit.
Da Vinci & Michelangelo

They offer an interactive Sistine Chapel where you can get a 360-degree view of the entire chapel and zoom in on the ceiling. It’s probably the only time you’ll ever see the room empty too.
Da Vinci & Michelangelo

Da Vinci & Michelangelo

Every time I see the “Creation of Adam” I can’t help but think of Arrested Development. If you don’t watch the show or haven’t seen that episode you really must, it’s hilarious!

Da Vinci & Michelangelo

On a completely separate note I finally had my appointment with my surgeon! Those wretched screws are finally coming out! Surgery is scheduled for next Wednesday. Woo hoo! The recovery time is much quicker and I should be back on my feet, literally, in a couple weeks and should be a better blogger too. As much as I have enjoyed catching up on The Killing nobody really wants to read about how much fun I’m not having being lazy. I’ve been such a crab lately that the thought of writing a post hasn’t really appealed to me. I didn’t even participate in Black & White Sunday! The discipline I learned while doing my monthly blog challenges has apparently worn off. And speaking of montly challenges I’ve been playing around with a July one so don’t be surprised if you see a few random prompt posts in the next couple of weeks. Although that might just be the pain killers talking. 🙂

Happy weekend!

9 thoughts on “When “When In Rome” is more apropo

      • Naw, you are not talking to yourself at all. Everyone gets busy at some point and needs to take a break from blogging, but we’re always here when you get back! It is nice to hear that people look for you in their inbox and wonder where you are when you don’t appear there….aren’t bloggers great?!!! 🙂

  1. Hi – I visited the Milan permanent exhibition of some of Leonardo’s models – amazing man .. and I have a couple of books that I really must read. This exhbition looks so interesting .. and I’m delighted you both had a great time looking round ..

    … good luck with those pins .. and the recovery – as you say it’ll be nice to be ‘normal’ again – if any of us ever are!

    Have a happy weekend .. Hilary

I love comments. Leave one below!

