Sometimes a venting post is needed

This post has nothing to do with my adorable dog or insane cats so feel free to stop now if you wish 🙂 This is a post venting my frustration with social media.

I’ve been having one of those weeks where I have had nothing creative to post. My brain is still trying to recover from October, which was a really busy month. I picked October to do a daily blog challenge because I love the Halloween season but halfway through the month I realized that was a mistake. I was struggling to get them posted on time and didn’t make the post material as fun as I would have liked. From the 15th to the 31st I worked 10 days in a row, had two days off before the regular week started again and ended that all with 22+ hours of overtime. By the first of November I was exhausted and seriously crabby. Taking a short break from the world of internet, blogging, daily Instagram posts, etc was seriously overdue. Then I read a comment in reference to my taking a break, meant in a semi-joking way(…I think), that really, really, annoyed me. More than it should have. I have no hard feelings towards the blogger who commented and I very much enjoy their posts but this really got my hackles up. It was just one of those wrong place, wrong time… remember I was sleep-deprived and snarly when I read it.

The root of my annoyance is real though and I’m sure lots of people can relate. I blog for fun in my free time and sometimes life gets in the way. I have a stressful, full time job with a 2 hour commute and I work overnight which seriously messes with your life. When I was younger I could work graves and exist on a few hours of sleep. Now in order to stay up all night I require lots of sleep and lots of coffee. The few hours between waking up and work are spent with my husband and taking care of normal day to day things like cleaning the house and cooking dinner. Free time is a rare bonus in my life. I always joke with Wayne that we’re definitely ready to have kids because we get no sleep and have no time.

I have no problem taking criticism about what or how I write, it’s just a part of this world. But I don’t feel like needing a break from the social media world is a bad thing. In fact I think people should do it more often. I often reminisce about the days when there were no cell phones or internet. I spend so much time on computers that sometimes I have no desire to write a post (or write one that people would actually want to read). I doubt I will ever have the luxury of blogging as a career. You can expect me to take breaks from time to time because I never want to get to the point where I dislike blogging or it feels like another job.

Kudos to those, full-time or otherwise, that can do this without a break. I don’t think I will ever be one of you.

