Christmas Challenge Day 2: Favorite Christmas movies

There are a lot of classic Christmas movies out there. In this instance I’m referring to classic as those really good movies that teach us an important lesson about Christmas or feature some of the best actors to come from Hollywood. White Christmas. Miracle on 34th Street. ZuZu’s name comes from It’s A Wonderful Life. I love a lot of them. I mean, there’s a reason they are classics.

And then there are the Christmas movies where classic means hilarious and worth remembering. The kind of holidays that people might actually experience. These ridiculously goofy ones are the ones that I watch over and over. Here are my top three faves.

“Oh my God, I shot my eye out!”

A Christmas Story is probably my favorite. You know how they play the movie on repeat for a day or two during the week of Christmas? Well we usually keep it on and watch it at least 4 or 5 times. It never gets old. A list Yahoo! put together a few years ago goes through some of the best scenes. I love a lot of them and I have to agree the leg lamp scene is one of the best.


“I don’t know what to say, except it’s Christmas and we’re all in misery.”

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. The entire Griswold collection of movies is great but there’s something about the Christmas one that really stands out. It’s hard to pick a favorite scene because they are all hilarious.

” I fell down the chimney and landed on a flaming hot goose!”

Last but not least The Muppet’s Christmas Carol. This by far is probably to goofiest of my favorites but I have always loved the Muppets. Rizzo  is one of my favorites so his scenes or any with the rest of the rat gang are some of my favorite.

I know what I’m about to say is probably blasphemy to a lot of people but I’ve only seen Elf once. And I barely remember any of it. Almost everyone I know, my mom included, consider it one of the best Christmas movies. Ever. So one of these days I may find it and watch it.

What’s your favorite Christmas movie?

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

13 thoughts on “Christmas Challenge Day 2: Favorite Christmas movies

  1. Ah yes, National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation is so great. I love the live cat wrapped in the gift… omg, just thinking about the movie is bringing back all sorts of other favorite moments in it. I’m going to have to dig it out and watch it again now!

  2. I love A Christmas Story! It’s my favorite movie for Christmas ever! I watch the entire 24 hours on TNT every day. There’s a hotel down here in Chicago that has the leg in its front window.

  3. Pingback: Christmas Challenge: Day 2 - Favorite Movie

I love comments. Leave one below!

