Christmas Challenge Day 3: Christmas Music

Today’s topic is covering Christmas music. I don’t like a lot of the newer Christmas music by the pop groups and I’m not a fan of country music so most of those are out.  I do love Nitty Gritty Dirt Band’s “Colorado Christmas.” The classic Christmas songs or anything instrumental/piano is on my music list this time of year. I never get sick of listening to them either. Then again I don’t listen to it 24/7 which probably helps. All year long 2 co-workers and myself will spontaneously sing a few lines from “Happy Holidays” as we wait for the holiday season to arrive. When it finally does it’s so exciting!

Unlike my movie list when it comes to favorites I only have one song, “O Holy Night.” I’m extremely selective when it comes to the artist singing it too. Mariah Carey adds too much flair but I feel she does that on all her music and while I love Whitney Houston I just can’t bring myself to love her rendition. Celine Dion is perfect. I could listen to her sing it (or anything) over and over and over again. I also love both Josh Groban and Il Divo’s versions.


When I was a kid my favorites were a lot different. The Jingle Dogs & Cats were the best. My mom (I think it was my mom…) bought me the cassette which I still have to this day. I probably drove them nuts listening to it.

In grade school we had to fill out some Christmas questions and the last one was Favorite Christmas song. I remember writing “Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer” because I couldn’t think of anything else. Or maybe I copied someone else’s answer because I don’t remember hearing it a lot. I laugh whenever I hear it now but I still wonder if that’s appropriate. 🙂

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

6 thoughts on “Christmas Challenge Day 3: Christmas Music

I love comments. Leave one below!

