Protect Your Paws

If your dog is anything like ZuZu then you probably spend a lot of time traipsing through the snow with your dog. Which means your probably familiar with what I like to call dog-cicles, those disgusting chunks of snow turned ice that the dog pulls out of their paws.

Snow dog

If you’ve already made it inside having the dog chew on them isn’t such a big deal but when they do it outside it only makes matters worse! There have been a few times she accumulated so much she looked like she was wearing boots made of snow. Once Wayne actually carried her home because she wouldn’t stop chewing on her feet and started limping due to the buildup.

Dog carrierHe’s such a sweetheart. That’s why I love him.

This year a lot of people have asked me what the best way to protect your dogs’ tootsies and I always suggest mushing wax because booties are a big no way in our house. Zu won’t even let me get near her with them. ย I currently don’t have any wax in stock and am too lazy to make the 10 minute drive to the pet supply store to stock up. So today when Zu and I went out in the freezing cold we had to brave with unprotected paws. She tried to stop a few times to gnaw but I was able to stop her. But when we got inside she wanted no help from me! So I just followed her around picking up chunks of dirty ice. Ugh.

Back to the wax. It’s non-toxic and completely safe for dogs so when they start licking…and they might at first…there’s nothing to worry about. I don’t know if mainstream pet stores carry it; ie Petsmart, Petco, but our pet supply store does and I think another smaller, local store. Or you can order online for a decent price.

I’m curious on your thoughts on mushing wax.ย Have any of you ever tried it? And if so, do you like it?

7 thoughts on “Protect Your Paws

  1. Interesting! We’d never heard of the wax. MomFOD calls that a case of “Icy-tosis” when it happens to Doodle. We use Pawz boots. They’re like little rubber balloons that you can throw out if they get holes. They stick on really well and Doodle has no trouble with them. The wax is an interesting option for those that refuse them, tho! Of course, I don’t go in the snow, so I don’t need either. – Crepes.

  2. Goodness me..we will never have that problem with our climate. The only paw issue here is watching for them treading on snakes..or wild grass seeds ..or bullants..:) hugs Fozziemum xx

I love comments. Leave one below!

