Christmas Card Season!

Today is Day 6 of our Christmas Challenge! Do you make photo cards or send traditional cards?

*Name side note – If you’re paying close attention (or actually looking at the pictures) you’ll notice a different name. For anyone who doesn’t personally know me, hasn’t followed for very long or maybe missed the few posts where I’ve mentioned this…my God/parents-given name is Robbie. Ruby is my nickname. For back story see theย About Meย section. P.S. It’s at the bottom of the page. ๐Ÿ™‚

These days we send photo cards with the 4-legged ones joining us on the card but when we first started sending cards I would buy traditional cards. I’m not great at writing original, personal messages to everyone though so that didn’t last long. I know I could write the same thing but I always feel guilty doing that.

Right after we got married we sent wedding pictures with our cards to family members…it never dawned on us to make the picture our card. One year we had these cute pictures of us with the cats. We had dressed them up like reindeer, which they hated, but the card turned out great. We got such great response from people that we decided to keep them on the card. My uncle in particular got such a kick out of it that even if everyone else had hated it we would have kept doing it.

In 2009 we introduced ZuZu to the Christmas card fiasco with this card.

Christmas card 2009

We’ve tried every year to get a picture of all us together and usually end up with a flurry of fur and snarls. Which is why our card turned out like this one.

Christmas 2010

Roma doesn’t want to be picked up unless she is in the mood for cuddles so getting her to stay in the frame is impossible. It lucked out she was intrigued by something in the corner and stayed in the chair. ZuZu was torn between being scared of Chubbs and wanting to lick my face. It’s not my favorite card but it turned out well enough.

This year we got a little creative and I loved how the card turned out. By pure luck we were finally able to get a picture of all of us that turned out wonderfully!ย Chubbs looks absolutely adorable. They should be here soon! There’s still time to get yours! Actually since most of you chose digital delivery you can receive your card right up until Christmas. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m still happy to mail them…it’s the only time of year I buy stamps.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click hereย to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

18 thoughts on “Christmas Card Season!

  1. I can’t wait to get your card in the mail! We still have to “try” to do our Christmas photo with our furry kids and they act the same way. Gosh, they act like they are being tortured or something and all they have to do is just sit there. Silly dogs! I love all of your cards you posted! Awesome! You and Wayne are so great!

    • Haha! I totally agree…they have it so easy all the time, the least they can do is have their picture taken! I guess I understand not wanting to wear reindeer ears or Santa sweater but still… Lol! I can’t wait to see yours too!

      • I remember last year when we tried to get a “good” photo of all of us, and all the takes that I had to do. I have tons of the ones we did not use of Nikita looking one way, or Bella when she was younger trying to jump off Roy’s lap and out of the picture. You’re right, all they have to do is just sit there, that’s it. That does not sound too hard to do, right? I mean heck, I am the one who has to keep getting up to reset the self-timer and do all the work.

      • I feel you on the self-timer! I made a point to buy a clicker for my camera this year but couldn’t get it to work so I spent the whole time running around! I realized after it was all over I had forgotten to change the setting! Good luck with your pictures…you’ll probably need it it, lol!

  2. Both cards are beautiful, Ruby! You did a great job! ๐Ÿ˜€ Oh, and we love the way ZuZu looks up at you with adoring eyes in the second card… that’s soooo cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy Holidays to you and your loved ones! โค
    Roxy & Tigerlino

    • Thanks Roxy & Tigerlino! We have so much fun making them. We chose that second picture for that reason, the look on her face is so adorable! Have a wonderful holiday season too ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Those two cards are adorable. Our humans have been doing a newsletter for 20+ years with oodles of photos. And for the last several years have been e-mailing it.Our dad has friends all over the world, and the postage just got too expensive. Most people don’t like or want to get newsletters, but every year we hear from friends and relatives to make sure they get one. They are always very amusing. And that’s the reason. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

I love comments. Leave one below!

