Day 13 ~ Decorating for the holidays

When do you decorate for the holidays? How long do you keep up your decor?

We usually decorate the first of December. I always keep something on the door for every holiday. I really like my fall wreath so I don’t want to take it down too soon and I’m not one who could have fall decorations on the front door and be decorating for Christmas on the inside. We try to get our tree the first week of the month but there have been a couple times we waited for a couple weeks. Depending on how Chistmas-y I’m feeling I’ll decorate the entire house. Sometimes it’s just the tree and a few decorations. I keep white lights on the deck year round, swapping out fall colors in late summer.

How long we keep decorations up usually depends on how long the tree stays alive but it’s usually through the week of New Years. I get the urge to thoroughly clean the house after the holidays and once that happens the Christmas decorations have to go ASAP. There was one year we un-decorated the tree but had no time to take it to the recycling center. One day I woke up and saw the tree and decided it had to go! Instead of waiting for Wayne to come home I knocked the thing over onto a big tarp and rolled it up, tying it with twine. I dragged it to my car and finagled it into the trunk. It was a lot easier to get it in there than it was to drag it out and into the dumpster. Occasionally I still find rogue pine needles in my trunk. 🙂

I’d love to hear about your decorations!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

11 thoughts on “Day 13 ~ Decorating for the holidays

  1. Dec first it starts and new years day it’s packed up …except the xmas Simba spent xmas day in emergency with both front legs nearly ripped off from a rabbit trap..we pulled everything down the next day..lost the spirit real quickly..the following xmas was much the same we lost Simba in September he was shot and a week before xmas we had to say goodbye to Merlin after a long battle with Feline aids..lost the spirit then too…funny some years you don’t want it to end and others you struggle to start 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xxx

    • I agree. Last year I wanted nothing to do with Christmas and this year I’m so happy about it. It’s sad not to have our pets with us at the holidays. One of my childhood cats died early 2013 so it’s coming up on a year. Even though I didn’t see him a lot (he stayed with my parents when I left) he was still my big baby. I just hug my little ones now…and spoil them with lots of presents 🙂

  2. Hi Ruby, our humans put up the tree and decorations no later than the first week of December. It comes down the day after New Year’s day… But we like to undecorate the tree and hide our new toys (ornaments) every time the humans aren’t looking… 😉

    Have a PURRFECT weekend!
    Kitty hugs, Roxy & Tigerlino 😀

  3. Our humans used to have live trees (actually before our time), and get it around the 10th of December. Now we have one of those artificial ones and enough garland to stretch from here to the North Pole. Mom seems to start earlier and earlier every year ’cause she has gotten slower and slow. She never starts before Thanksgiving like some of her friends do. Decorations always stay up at least until Epiphany. Since everything is fake, it doesn’t really matter. The rule is, everything must be dismantled and put away by Ground Hog Day. She’s just as slow getting it all down as she is putting it all up. MOL and HO, HO, HO! Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  4. those pine needles are horrible I know! We always had a real xmas tree as a child…..but I must admit mine is a fake….a frod…..a phony! I dont like the pine needles LOL
    ((hugz)) from your Husky Pals at “love is being owned by a husky”

I love comments. Leave one below!

