Christmas Challenge Day 19 ~ Thoughts on Fruitcake

Fruitcake. Yay or nay?

I’ve always said nay on this one but truth be told I’ve never actually tried it. Just looking at it scares me a little. I mean, what is all that stuff?

Google Images

I looked over a few fruitcake recipes and will eat most of what goes into it but then I look at that picture and just can’t bring myself to try it. I have a friend who doesn’t mind it and every year I say I’ll take a page from his book and eat it….that’s still never happened.

Google Images

I’m curious about your (or your humans) thoughts or experiences with fruitcake? Should this be the year I finally try it?

Powered by Linky Tools

Click hereΒ to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

18 thoughts on “Christmas Challenge Day 19 ~ Thoughts on Fruitcake

  1. Fruitcake was a holiday staple when Jen grew up. Her grandma and great-aunt would compete to see whose was the best. Truth be told, the best fruitcake is the one that’s soaked in rum. I suggest you try it that way. Or perhaps a sweet wine.

  2. I do not like fruit cakes!
    The only time I have ever eaten a fruit cake is when I was a child and my grandma made special fruit cakes with jube jubes in it. Other then that, NOPE! LOL im with ya on that one!
    ((hugz)) from your Husky Pals at “love is being owned by a husky”

  3. No! I am not a fan of fruit cake, though this one looks ok. My pups are pleased though, if I were a fruit cake eater they couldn’t share. Lots of raisins and sultana etc. nasties in there isn’t there?
    Carrie x

  4. Yea…I love fruitcake…all that nutty, fruity goodness. Yum. I’m glad no one else in my family likes it…that means more for me! I freeze a few slices and sneak them out later in the new year, relishing memories of the holidays. Let them eat cake; I’ll eat the fruitcake!

I love comments. Leave one below!

