Can you name all the reindeer and the 12 days of Christmas? Because I can’t!

Without looking them up can you name all of Santa’s reindeer? How about the Twelve Days of Christmas?

When I first put this list of Christmas questions together I went through both lists and could name them. We’re 3 weeks into the Christmas season and surely we’ve all heard both songs by now. As I’m writing this I’ve quickly come to realize I can not remember anything! I’ve listed my horrible answers below but first I’ve added a few photos to give you all a moment to think of your answers!

Google Images

Every year Santa lends out a couple of his reindeer to a nursery in Fort Collins. They stay until Christmas Eve, presumably because they have a busy night ahead of them. 😉 We go out to see them and take lots of pictures. I have an obsession with taking pictures of the same animal repeatedly.

ReindeerThis next one we accidentally cut off the reindeer’s head because of the fence and my arms weren’t long enough to get both of us and the whole reindeer in the picture. At least we got the antlers!
RW with the Reindeer

Santa’s Reindeer

Dasher, Dancer, Blizten (I always want to call him Blitzer), Prancer, Rudolph, Vixen…Okay I’m up to six.

The 12 days of Christmas

On the twelfth day of Catmess, my true love gave to me, twelve rodents roasting, eleven prawns with pasta, ten bugs in butter, nine lox for licking, eight squirrel Schnitzels, seven swans-a-simmering, six geese in gravy, five pheasant wings, four broiled birds, three fried hens, two turtle stews and a partridge with some nip tea.
~Excerpt from Mauricio’s 12 Days of Catmess from The Cat On My Head

 

I can remember most of the “things” but not which number to which they belong. I fear I’ve failed miserably! The ones in italic I’m certain are wrong.

Twelve …. I have nothing!
Eleven lords a-leaping
Ten drummers drumming
Nine…nothing
Eight maids a-milking
Seven swans a-swimming
Six geese a-laying
Five golden rings
Four…still nothing
Three french hens
Two turtle doves
One partridge in a pear tree!

Wow that was really bad! Even when I sing the songs my mind has added the blanks as actual parts of the song!

How did the rest of you do?

25 thoughts on “Can you name all the reindeer and the 12 days of Christmas? Because I can’t!

  1. 12 Drummers Drumming
    11 Pipers Piping
    10 Lords a’ Leaping
    9 Ladies Dancing
    8 Maids a’ Milking
    7 Swans a’ Swimming
    6 Geese a’ Laying
    5 Golden Rings
    4 Calling Birds
    3 French Hens
    2 Turtle Doves
    1 Partridge in a Pear Tree

    “Now, Dasher! now, Dancer! now, Prancer and Vixen! On, Comet! on Cupid! on, Donder and Blitzen!
    To the top of the porch! to the top of the wall! Now dash away! dash away! dash away all!”

    And then there’s Rudolph, but that’s a different story.

  2. I have a funny reindeer naming story….
    I was leading games at a church youth group ages ago and I made a “Christmas Jeopardy,” complete with 4 or 5 categories, dollar values and category titles taped to the wall, buzzers (bells), and a final Jeopardy question: name 7 of Santa’s 8 reindeer. (Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner, Blitzen.) No one could get 7, but they all listed “Rudolph.” “Oh my gosh, I forgot Rudolph!!” And everyone teased me, “How could you forget the most famous reindeer of all? It was HIS song that listed them!!!”

    Um, yeah…

    • LOL! That sounds like something I would have done! When I’m singing along with the song I always get them right…or at least I think I do, so I should know them. 🙂

  3. I loved this post and the photographs too! We get visiting reindeer here too that we go and see. I knew all of the reindeers names and the entire song too because I play Christmas music here all day and dance around singing while the dogs look at me strangely.

  4. The reindeer I am good with!
    Day’s of Christmas? I have nothing until… “FIIIVE GOOOOLD RINGS” It’s good from there on 😀
    Great post, such fun and lovely photos!
    Much woof, Carrie, Myfie, Ellie and Millie x

I love comments. Leave one below!

