It’s a New Year!

Happy New Year! We are off to a fresh start here at the Zuba household. I am really excited for 2015. I have a feeling this year is going to be awesome! It has been a bit of a rocky start though. I came down with a cold on New Year’s Eve and spent the holiday sleeping and binge watching Grey’s Anatomy. So Wayne and I will be celebrating “New Year’s Eve” this week complete with fondue and champagne.

My resolution for this year is to have more fun and accomplish a few things on my bucket list. I need to have surgery (again 😦 ) on my other foot but it will be later in the year so I am attempting to run a fun 5k every month or two before I go back into the world of crutches and casts and pain meds.* I’ve been working with Bandit on running on a leash so hopefully his 5k debut will be soon. I’m still not at a point where I can run with both dogs but we’re getting there!
Walking the dogs

As I’m looking over my yearly calendar I see something fun for every month. I’m tackling a DIY project for January. February brings Valentine’s Day…chocolates, champagne and my favorite: the heart-shaped pepperoni pizza from Papa Murphy’s! In March we are going skiing with my niece and nephew and in April we’re going on a beach vacation. May equals Nicaragua, June is Wayne’s birthday (and ZuZu’s…and my parents), July has the 4th and August my birthday, of course. My anniversary is in September (9 years…wow!), October has my sister’s birthday and Halloween, November is Bandit’s birthday and Thanksgiving, then Christmas in December. There’s so many fun things to do and yet I don’t want this year to go by too quickly.

My DIY project is fun yet challenging…dog beds. Bandit loves sleeping in his kennel but he also loves sleeping in our bedroom with us. Since I also love having the dogs sleep with us I dragged his kennel up from the basement and put it in our bedroom. ZuZu, who hasn’t even spared a glance for her kennel in 5 years, suddenly decided her favorite snoozing spot was the kennel. To make her happy Wayne brought her dog house inside and put it next to Bandit’s kennel. My bedroom is now overrun with dog houses & pillows! Wow, do I spoil my dogs or what? But I like that they are comfortable in their houses and don’t see them as the bad place. So I am trying to create dog beds for the pups that look nice in my bedroom. I’ve pinned a few things on Pinterest on ZuBa the Spoiled Dogs. Our room is big enough to put both the beds against one wall but I don’t want them so big they overtake or clutter the atmosphere of the room. Yet I still want them cozy so the dogs feel comfortable in them. Quite the challenge!

He shut himself in his kennelHe shut himself in his kennel

I’m off to start my other new year resolution…read more books! My sister and I started a mini book club in November and we are currently reading Pride & Prejudice. If anyone has book recommendations send them my way. We are looking for a variety from every genre of books!

Until next time!

The questions of the day are: Anyone have big plans for the new year? Has anyone done a DIY dog house/bed? What good books have you read lately (or want to read)?

*I wrote the blog post I linked to above while on A LOT of heavy medications…it was a good time. 🙂 To read more about my lovely bunion surgery and the Adventures of Gus you can visit the Foot Surgery section!

4 thoughts on “It’s a New Year!

I love comments. Leave one below!

